Dobot Frequently Asked Questions

FAQ

常见问题都将罗列在此, 包含操作指引手册与产品更新信息,
请根据机型选择答案。

  • 1、Dobot机械臂一代是几轴的,分别在哪个位置?

    Dobot机械臂一代为4轴并联结构机械臂,Joint1-Joint3使用步进电机,分别对应于机械臂的底座、大臂、小臂;Joint4对应于末端夹具(机械爪、吸盘)的旋转,使用舵机。

  • 2、Dobot机械臂一代的负载有多少?

    Dobot机械臂一代的负载为500g。由于机械臂末端处于不同空间位置时力矩不同,所能承受的负载也会略微不同。

  • 3、Dobot机械臂一代臂展有多长?

    Dobot机械臂一代臂展为320mm,具体机械臂运行空间请参考Dobot参数文档。

  • 4、Dobot机械臂一代重复定位精度是多少?

    Dobot机械臂一代重复定位精度为 ±0.1 mm。

  • 5、Dobot机械臂一代发货时包含哪些设备?

    Dobot机械臂一代基本版套餐包含以下内容:机械臂主体、Dobot控制盒、5件夹具(机械爪、吸盘套件、电容笔、小楷笔与夹笔器、激光头与激光固定座)、电源适配器、USB链接线、工具包以及延长线、底座吸盘等附件。详细信息请参考发货清单

  • 6、Dobot机械臂一代收到之后需要自己安装吗?安装复不复杂?

    您收到的机械臂是已经组装好的,无需自己组装,只需要将相应的连线按指示连接起来即可,详情查看用户指导说明书

  • 7、如何用Dobot机械臂一代进行开发?

    我们开放了底层通信协议,通过串口通信, 可以直接配置运行参数,发送控制指令等来操作机械臂。我们也提供的了DobotTools软件的源代码,可以作为您二次开发的参考样例,详见下载页面

  • 8、Dobot一代机器人是否开源?

    Dobot一代机器人底层代码目前是不开源的,我们开放通信协议和DobotTools的代码来支持二次开发。最新的Dobot控制器采用了新版带有FPGA的控制方案,解决了此前单独Arduino mega 2560作为控制器时的丢步和误差累计的问题。现有方案结果上千小时连续运行验证稳定。然而现有方案对底层时序要求严格,开放底层代码会对机械臂运行的安全性和稳定性产生影响,所以目前推荐大家通过串口通信来接入新的传感器、控制器等。

  • 9、如何使用外设与Dobot机械臂相连? 如添加传感器, 开关信号等?

    可以将外设与传感器连接到另外一块独立的微控制器上进行传感器数据的采集和处理,以及相应的逻辑判断,然后再通过微控制器与Dobot控制器进行串口通信的方式进行开发处理。


  • 10、可否使用Arduino/ PLC/ ARM等微控制器来控制Dobot一代机械臂?

    可以使用,只需要将相应微控制器与Dobot机械臂的蓝牙模块链接的串口相连,按照Dobot通信协议向Dobot发送控制指令即可。

  • 11、Dobot机械臂一代是如何进行通信与控制的?

    Dobot控制器提供了USB与蓝牙两种通信方式,分别对应于Arduino mega 2560的两个串口:

    (1)在PC端安装Aruidno驱动之后,电脑端可以通过USB转串口,与Arduino控制器进行通信。

    (2)Android/iOS设备可以通过蓝牙与控制器板载蓝牙模块相连(Android端需要输入配对密码:1234, iOS app 不需要密码配对),将控制指令发送给Dobot控制器。

    (3)蓝牙模块端口对应的串口亦可以作为与其他微控制器通信的串口端口。外部微控制器只需要按照通信协议给Dobot控制器发送控制指令即可。


  • 12、为什么Dobot机械臂一代无法运动?

    1. 检查传感器是否正确安装与连接。

    2. USB拨码开关是否连接到USB端(如果是用手机控制 需要拨到Bluetooth端)

    3. 连接USB线,打开软件,查看软件是否提示“Not found serial port!”,若出现以上提示,请安装Arduino驱动,若Arduino驱动安装正常,可在设备管理器中看到名为 “Arduino mega 2560”的设备。

    4. 根据版本进行Baud Rate进行配置(1.1及以后版本为9600)。

    5. 检查机械臂是否处于限位位置,请将机械臂大小臂致于大约45度处,在复位后重新测试。

    6. 进入teach&playback界面joint2&3上面空格是否有数字,若经过以上步骤,joint2&3仍然未有数字可以尝试用DobotTools中的下载固件下载最新版的固件,然后再次尝试。

    7. 如果经过以上步骤还没解决,请直接联系 support@dobot.cc,我们会尽快为您解答。


  • 13、越疆魔术师机械臂都有哪些末端夹具?

    越疆魔术师机械臂末端包含了诸如吸盘、夹笔器、激光头、手爪、3D打印,更换末端夹具后可实现吸取物品、写字画画、激光雕刻&灰度雕刻、夹取物件、3D打印功能。

  • 14、越疆魔术师机械臂有哪些套件?具体套件是什么?

    基础版本套件有机械臂本体、吸盘、手爪、写字画画、3D打印以及蓝牙模块。

    教育版本在基础版的基础之上增加了激光套件(激光雕刻以及灰度雕刻)、WIFI 模块、手柄控制套件以及LEAP MOTION套件。

  • 15、什么是Teach & Playback?

    Teach & Playback是教会机械臂,并将其复现的功能,Teach是将机械臂的当前的XYZ坐标轴记录下来,并形成点到点的顺序。Playback表示用户可用来自定义动作,并按照规定次数重复。

  • 16、写字画画有什么亮点展示?

    目前的写字画画功能可以使用中性笔、毛笔、水笔等各种类型,同时支持PLT、BMP、SVG、DXF等格式,用户可以自己制作图案,点线面一应俱全,±0.2mm重复定位精度。

  • 17、什么是手持示教?

    在机械臂运动范围之内,手持移动末端到指定的位置,机械臂将会记录下相应的路径轨迹,然后按照指定的轨迹进行移动。

  • 18、什么是激光雕刻?可以雕刻哪些材质?

    激光雕刻功能是利用机械臂的高精度,配合最新选配的405nm 500mW蓝紫光激光管,输出功率更大,雕刻范围更广,可以用机械臂在皮革、牛皮卡纸、木头上雕刻个性图案。最新的激光套件还支持通过脉宽调制(PWM)可以控制激光输出功率,进行灰度雕刻。

  • 19、什么是灰度雕刻?

    越疆魔术师机械臂(Dobot Magician)机械臂所带的的激光雕刻功能除了可以雕刻线条,还可以雕刻出带灰度变化的图案,比如将一幅黑白带有灰度变化的图片雕刻在木板上。

    灰度雕刻.png

  • 20、什么是3D打印?所使用的软件是什么?支持什么格式?越疆魔术师 3D打印支持什么材料?

    3D打印,即快速成型技术的一种,它是一种以数字模型文件为基础,运用粉末状金属或塑料等可粘合材料,通过逐层打印的方式来构造物体的技术。3D打印使用的控制软件是免费开源的Repetier host.可以在官网下载最新版本:https://www.repetier.com/

    3D打印使用的是通用的STL文件格式,用户可以自己设计三维模型并转换为STL文件即可,或者在网络搜索免费的模型文件直接导入。越疆魔术师机械臂支持PLA材料的打印,打印精度为0.1mm。

  • 21、越疆魔术师机械臂在3D打印上有什么亮点?

    越疆魔术师机械臂是一台基于机械臂扩展的3D打印,在满足机械臂3D打印功能的使用基础上, 不仅保留了机械臂功能的完整性,还大大的拓展了其他应用,如激光雕刻,写字画画等。由于机械臂扩展3D打印,不受结构限制,还能使用双色打印套件,扩展双色打印的功能。

  • 22、什么是图形化编程?越疆魔术师机械臂采用的是什么形式的图形化平台?

    图形化编程是利用由图形化组成的程序代码, 用户自由组合成为一整套执行程序, 然后交由机械臂完成复杂动作的系统, 相较于传统编程学习,具有简单易学, 容易理解, 快速上手等优势。 Dobot Blockly是越疆科技为该机械臂开发的一套图形化编程平台, 基于谷歌的开源平台Google Blockly。 通过该平台,用户可以通过砌拼图的方式进行编程, 直观易懂。 该平台还整合了机械臂专属的API, 以供用户随时调用。

    图形编程.png

  • 23、在Dobot控制器上有哪些升级?有哪些接口?如何使用?

    最新的Dobot控制器升级了最新的ARM控制器,大大增强了微控制器的处理能力。您可通过串口通信来接入新的传感器、控制器等。拓展接口丰富,Dobot机器人魔术师系列的机身上共有13个扩展接口,用户可以接上各种外置模块,通过编程为机械臂实现更高级的功能。

  • 24、 什么是二次开发?

    二次开发是利用机械臂作为平台,通过如Python、Java、C++等开发语言通过提供的SDK,调用应用程序接口(API)来编程控制机械臂完成你想要的做的应用。若您使用的开发语言不在SDK支持的范围内, 或想要扩展到其他平台如手机端、PLC等其他控制系统来控制机械臂, 您可以通过提供的底层通信协议直接实现与机械臂的通信, 实现对机械臂底层的控制, 完成高级定制化应用功能的开发。 

  • 25、什么是多机控制?

    您可以通过WIFI或USB使用电脑同时连接多个机械臂进行控制。

  • 26、什么是脱机模式?

    Dobot的魔术师系列机械臂具有内置储存空间,用户可以把存点列表或代码上传,然后让机械臂脱机执行,脱离PC端自主执行程序。

  • 27、Dobot M1有哪些末端夹具?可以自行配备末端夹具吗?

    Dobot M1的末端夹具有吸盘,夹笔器、激光头、爪子和3D打印头。

    只需更换末端夹具就能轻松实现夹取放置,写字画画,激光雕刻,灰度雕刻,以及3D打印功能。我们将发布M1末端夹具接口的CAD文件,你可以设计自己的定制的支架来安装自己的末端。

  • 28、M1是否支持二次开发?它支持什么语言?

    当然,Dobot M1作为一个平台,人们可以用它做很多事情。除了我们所提供的应用以及软件,用户可以使用我们所提供的SDK,调用应用程序接口(API),通信协议以及一些基本的示例来编程控制机械臂完成你想要做的应用。因此您可以运用所熟悉的Python、java、C++、C #等开发语言来轻松实现你想要的应用。开放协议提供了与dobot M1通信的基本方式,能够帮助你扩展到其他平台如手机端、PLC等控制系统来控制机械臂,完成高级定制化应用功能的开发。

  • 29、M1是否可以配合视觉功能?我们能用它做什么呢?

    Dobot M1提供一些基本的视觉功能,如相机校正、图像获取、图像边缘检测、图像分割、络合萃取。有了这些功能,你可以实现基于基本视觉的目标物的分拣应用。

    我们也将提供所提到的功能的API,帮助您快速安装和开发更高级的视觉应用。

  • 30、为什么Dobot M1拥有如此高的性价比?

    作为一群机器人工程师,我们愿意看到专业机器人被定义为工业制造设备,从而可以应用到更多的场景中,看到机器人进入我们的生活,并帮助人们创造和提高工作效率。在维持性能的前提下,它价格也必须是能够负担得起的。从我们的设计开始就将成本列入了考虑。为了保证其性能,我们保持电机、减速器等关键部件的专业标准,也设法简化设计,保持整个系统简洁强大。剔除非必要的组件也起到很大作用,例如用一个用户友好的APP替代程序的示教器。

     

    通过众筹,我们将能在很短的时间内够出售许多套件(比较传统的工业机器人),这给了我们在制造阶段的优势。因此,我们需要你的帮助,越多的人加入,我们就越能实现更低的成本。

  • 31、M1配合导轨能够实现多远的运动范围?

    简单来说,能够实现的范围是和滑轨的长度一样远。

    加上滑轨,M1可自由设定的固定安装的位置,实现移动。在这种情况下,M1可以从滑轨的一端到另一端拾取和放置物体,画更大的画,雕刻更大的范围,打印更长的物体(长于市面上大多数的3D打印机)。滑轨的长度有很多选择,我们提供了1.2米长的滑轨,当然,你可以根据个人需要选择更长的。


top

FAQ

Find answers to frequently asked questions,
including product updates and how-to guides.

  • 1、How many axes of Dobot Arm V1.0 ? Where do they fall on separately?

    Dobot Arm V1.0 is a four-axis robot arm with parallel interconnection. Joint1, 2, 3, 4, Joint1-Joint3 are corresponding to the base, forearm and rear arm, respectively, using motor stepper. And Joint4 is for the rotation of end holders (gripper and suction cap), using servo instead.

  • 2、What is the total payload of Dobot Arm V1.0 ?

    Dobot Arm V1.0's payload is 500g. Note: When the joints are in different position, the torque varies as well, which would result in different payload.

  • 3、What is the max reach of Dobot Arm V1.0 ?

    The max reach of Dobot Arm V1.0 is 320mm. As for detailed Dobot work envelope, please refer to the Dobot specification.

  • 4、What is the position repeatability of Dobot Arm V1.0 ?

    Dobot Arm V1.0 has a position repeatability of ±0.2 mm.

  • 5、Which attachments will be included in the package of Dobot Arm V1.0?

    The basic package includes the following items: Dobot robot, Dobot controller, 5 pieces end effectors (gripper, suction cap, stylus, pen & pen holder, laser & laser holder), power adaptor, USB cable, toolkit, extension cable, base, suction cap and other accessories. For detailed information, please refer to the shipping list.

  • 6、Do we need to assemble it by ourselves when we receive Dobot Arm V1.0 ? Is it complicate?

    The dobot arm has already been assembled when shipped out. You just need connect a few cables following the instructions.

  • 7、Will Dobot Arm V1.0 open source?

    We will not open our underlying codes at this moment but open communication protocols to support developers. The latest Dobot controller solves the problem of pulse losing and error accumulation when using Arduino mega 2560 alone. As it adopts new control scheme with FPGA, which has been proven to be very stable even after thousands of hours continuous operation. However, the current framework is strict with time sequence, as it will have an effect on safety and stability of Dobot’s operation when modifying underlying codes. Therefore we recommend our users to access new sensor or controller through serial port communication.

  • 8、How to use Dobot Arm V1.0 to develop our own application?

    Firstly, we have already published the communication protocol. By using serial port communication, you can configure operation parameters and send out control commends to operate Dobot. Also, we open sourced code of DobotTools, which can be used as a reference of the development.

  • 9、How to connect Dobot Arm V1.0 with peripherals? Like adding sensor, switch signal or any others?

    Users can connect peripherals and sensors with another microcontroller to collect and process sensor data and make logical operation, and then set up a serial communication between microcontroller and Dobot controller.

  • 10、Can it control Dobot Arm V1.0 when using Arduino, PLC, and ARM microcontroller?

    Yes. Users just need connect the microcontroller with the Dobot controller serial port, which is currently used to connect Bluetooth Module. And then you can send control commends to Dobot controller according to communication protocol.

  • 11、How Dobot Arm V1.0 communicate and control?

    (1)After installing Arduino driver at PC, users can communicate with Arduino controller through USB. (2)There is a Bluetooth module on the controller board. Android/iOS can connect to Dobot controller through Bluetooth (Notice: android need input a password: 1234 while iOS app does not require this), and send out instructions to the controller. (3)Bluetooth module ports can be served as a serial port for communicating with other microcontrollers. External microcontroller only needs to send control commends to Dobot controller according to communication protocol.

  • 12、Why Dobot Arm V1.0 cannot move?

    1. Install and connect the sensor properly. 

    2. USB dial switch should connect with USB end, while mobile phone should be available for Bluetooth. 

    3. Please link with USB cable, open the software, and check if there is an instruction of ‘Not found serial port ’, if there is, please install Arduino driver, and then users will see one equipment called ‘Arduino mega 2560’in the device manager. 

    4. Configuration for Baud rate according to different version.(version 1.1 and later is 9600) 

    5. Check if Dobot is at a limited position, if yes, put Dobot two arms into 45 degree, and check again after resetting. 

    6. Enter into interface of teach&playback, check if there is numbers in the blank space of Joint2&3, if not, users can try to use firmware in DobotTools to download the latest firmware, and then try again.

  • 13、Which end-effector does Dobot Magician have?

    Dobot Magician end effectors include suction cup, pen holder, laser, gripper and 3D printing. Just change the end effectors, thus achieving functions of suction, drawing & writing, laser engraving & gray engraving, picking up and 3D printing. 

  • 14、Which package of Dobot Magician include?

    The package of basic version contains robot arm, suction cup, gripper, drawing & writing, 3D printing and Bluetooth module. 

    The educational version adds laser kit (laser engraving & gray engraving ), WIFI module, stick controller kit, and LEAP MOTION based on basic version. 

  • 15、What is Teach & Playback ?

    Teach & Playback, a function of teaching robot a position (multiple positions actually) and then play it back. Teach means recoding the current XYZ coordinates of Dobot Magician and forming into the sequence of point-to-point. Playback indicates repeating action designed by users. 

  • 16、What is the high point of drawing & writing?

    Users can use gel pen, ink brush, fountain pen and other kinds of pens, at the same time, our new software can support PLT, BMP, SVG, DXF and other forms, which has a repeatability position accuracy of ±0.2mm.

  • 17、What is hand-guide teaching?

    One can make Dobot Magician memorize movements by simply pressing the button and dragging it, and make it repeat by one click. One can also customize its movements by more accurately setting parameters on its PC software, where the playback list can be manually edited.

  • 18、What is laser engraving? What kind of material can be engraved on?

    Laser engraving is applied to high precision of robot and the latest advanced 405nm 500mW laser tube of blue-violet emission, which gets larger output power and wider engrave range. What is more, users can engrave personalized patterns on various material like leather, kraft liner board, wood and so on. Also, the latest laser kit can control laser output power to engrave via PWM.  

  • 19、What is gray engraving?

    Dobot Magician can engrave not just lines, it can also sketch images with shades. For example, one can engrave a picture with gray scale variation of black-white on wood.

    The figure shown as below:

    gray engraving

  • 20、What's 3D printing? What's the material it support, the software it used & format it applied to?

    3D printing, a kind of rapid prototyping technology, which uses powder metal or plastic and other adhesive materials on the basis of digital model files, fabricates objects through layer-by-layer printing. Dobot Magician is compatible with mainstream open-source 3D printing software: Repetier Host, you can download the latest version from official website: https://www.repetier.com/

    Users can build one’s own 3D model and transfer it into STL file, also, one can search free models to import them directly.

  • 21、What are the highlights of Dobot Magician 3D printing?

    Dobot Magician is an extensible desk-top 3D printing. Not only it can reserve the integrity of function, but also develop more other applications, such as laser engraving, drawing & writing besides the basic demand of 3D printing. Because of its extensible 3D printing without restrictions of structure, it can also do double color.

  • 22、What is visual programming? What kind of visualized platform employed by Dobot Magician?

    Visual programing, a system using patterned procedure codes where users combine a set of executive programs as their wish, can be realize complicated operation by Dobot Magician. It is very easy to learn comparing with traditional program learning. Dobot Blockly is a visualized programming environment developed for Dobot Magician, based on Google’s open-source platform Google Blockly. On Dobot Blockly one can program by simply putting puzzles together, it is intuitive and highly readable. It also integrated exclusive API for Dobot Magician, one can use them right away.

    Dobot Blockly

  • 23、What updates does Dobot Magician controller have? Which interface? How to use?

    Dobot updates the latest ARM controller, thus enhancing the processing capacity of microcontroller and users can access to new sensor, controller and something like others through serial port communication. Dobot Magician has 13 extension ports where users can connect them to external modules and program them to work together, realizing more advanced features.

  • 24、What is second development?

    See Dobot Magician as a platform, do what you want it to do by offered SDK and called API using Python, Java, C++ and other main language to program. If what user used development language is outside the scope of SDK, or one want to expand it into other platforms like PC, PLC and any other control system to control Dobot, one can use the underlying communication protocol to communicate with Dobot Magician directly, achieving advanced and customized development of application function.

  • 25、What is Multi-Dobot Cooperation?

    Through WIFI connection or connecting both machines to an external board, one can control multiple Dobot Magicians all at once. This not only saves one controlling devices, but also improved efficiency in operating and calibrating.

  • 26、What is offline mode?

    Dobot Magician has internal storage for commands. User can upload its own playback list or codes and let it run on its own without connecting to any device.

  • 27、Which end-effector does Dobot M1 have? Can I equip M1 with my customized end-effector?

    Dobot M1 end effectors include suction cup, pen holder, laser, gripper and 3D printing. Just change the end effectors, thus achieving applications like pick & place, drawing & writing, laser engraving, gray engraving, and 3D printing.

    Yes, you can. We will publish the CAD file of M1’s end-effector interface and you can design your customized holder to install your own end-effector.


  • 28、Does M1 support developers? If does, what language does it support?

    Sure. Dobot M1 is designed as a platform that people can do great things with it. Besides the applications and software we provide, user can develop their own applications with our SDK. API(Application Program Interface), communication data protocol, and some basic demos are provided freely to our developers. Therefore you can easily develop your application with the your familiar programing language such as Python, Java, C++, C# and etc. The open protocol provides the fundamental method to communicate with Dobot M1, which gives you the power of developing applications with other devices like PLC, smart phone, or other control system.

  • 29、How did you make Dobot M1 so affordable without losing performance?

    As a group of robot engineers, we love to see professional robot once defined as industrial manufacturing equipment can be applied in more scenarios, to see robot comes into our life and help people with their creation and improving work efficiency. To make it acceptable, it has to be affordable. The cost is considered from the beginning of our design. To maintain its performance, we hold professional standard for key components such as motor, reducer. And we also managed to simplify the design which also keeps the whole system clean and robust. Removing the non-essential components also helps a lot, e.g. replacing the teaching panel with a user-friendly APP.


    With crowd founding, we will be able to sell a lot units(comparing traditional industrial robot) in a short period, which also gives us advantage in the manufacturing stage. Therefore we need your help, more people join us, lower the cost we can achieve. 

  • 30、Does M1 come with visual function? What can we do with it?

    Dobot M1 provide some basic visual functions, such as camera calibration, obtaining image, edge detection, image segmentation and coordination extraction. With the provided function, you can implement a basic vision based Pick & Place application for some target object. And we will also provide the API of the mentioned functions for you to have quick setup and develop much more advanced vision applications.

  • 31、How far can M1 reach with the slide rail?

    A simple answer would be as far as the length of the slide rail.


    With the slide rail, the M1 can be set free from its fixed mounting location and become moveable. In which case the M1 can pick and place object form one end to another end of the rail, draw large picture, engraving in bigger range, printing long object(longer than most the  3D printers we can find from the market). The slide rail does extend the capabilities in a great deal. The slide rail we provide is 1.2 M long, and you can replace it with a longer one.

top